For additional media assistance, contact:

Steve Hartsoe
steve.hartsoe@duke.edu

Samiha Khanna
samiha.khanna@duke.edu

Environment/Energy Policy

Climate Change

Elizabeth Albright, an assistant professor of the practice of environmental science and policy methods, studies how policy decisions are made in response to storms and other extreme weather events. She can also discuss how such events affect people’s viewpoints.
(252-655-1366 (cell); elizabeth.albright@duke.edu
https://nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/albright

Brian Murray, director of the Duke University Energy Initiative. Specializes in the design of economic policies to address a range of environmental problems, with a focus on climate change policy. This includes the design of cap-and-trade systems; price containment mechanisms; and emissions offsets generated by the agriculture, forest and land-use sectors.
(919) 613-1324; bcmurray@duke.edu.
https://energy.duke.edu/leadership-staff/brian-murray

Energy and the Economy

Billy Pizer, professor of public policy, specializes in how clean energy policies can leverage the private sector, how environmental regulation can affect the economy and how to improve market-based environmental policies. Pizer is a former deputy assistant secretary for environment and energy at the U.S. Department of Treasury.
(919) 613-8729; billy.pizer@duke.edu.
https://nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/pizer

Environmental Politics

Megan Mullin, associate professor of environmental politics, researches the politics of climate change, the factors that shape public perception about it, and how – or if – this affects their voting decisions. Mullin has published broadly in political science, public administration and general science outlets.
(919) 684-1174; megan.mullin@duke.edu
https://nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/mullin

Human Health and Food Security

Drew Shindell, professor of earth science, researches how climate emissions and air pollution affect human health and food security globally. Shindell has testified before Congress and chairs the science advisory panel to the international Climate and Clean Air Coalition; was lead author on the UN’s 2018 Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report.
(919) 681-8467; drew.shindell@duke.edu
https://nicholas.duke.edu/people/faculty/shindell

Natural Resources Management

Sara A. Sutherland, an environmental economist, researches in part the political economy of natural resource management, with a focus on fisheries and water management. Sutherland collaborates with state agencies to tackle environmental issues in North Carolina. This includes projects to inform legislatures on the economic value of North Carolina’s natural resources including commercial fisheries and seagrass.
(919) 613-9217; sara.sutherland@duke.edu
https://scholars.duke.edu/person/Sara.Sutherland