Global Health

Infectious Diseases, Pandemic Threats and Prevention

  • Gregory Gray, professor of medicine, global health and environmental health. Studies a range of animal-borne viruses that have the potential to cause infections in humans; develops ways of detecting novel viruses on farms and animal markets. (919) 684-1032; gregory.gray@duke.edu
  • Chris Woods, professor of medicine and global health. Studies epidemiology of emerging and pre-emerging infectious diseases in the developing world, including potential for interspecies transmission of pathogens; research focuses on development of novel diagnostic approaches for infectious diseases. (919) 668-7174; chris.woods@duke.edu

Innovation and Digital Health

  • Eric Green, associate professor of the practice of global health. Studies how technology can improve healthcare and access in low-resource settings, particularly the use og mobile applications to aid diagnosis and treatment of various diseases. (919) 681-7289; eric.green@duke.edu
  • Krishna Udayakumar, associate professor of global health and medicine; director of the Global Health Innovation Center. Research focuses on generating evidence and support for the study, scaling and adaptation of health innovations and policy reforms globally. (919) 668-8585; ku@duke.edu

Global Health Policy, Systems and Financing

  • Manoj Mohanan, associate professor of public policy and global health. Focuses on health and development economics, with a focus on health systems and health care quality improvement; also studies the role of subjective beliefs in health-realted behaviors. (919) 613-9263, manoj.mohanan@duke.edu
  • Gavin Yamey, professor of the practice of global health and public policy; director of the Center for Policy Impact in Global Health. Conducts research and policy analysis focused on global health systems and financing, neglected diseases, pandemics and disparities in health.  (919) 613-6221; gavin.yamey@duke.edu

Health Effects of Environmental Change

  • William Pan, associate professor of global environmental health. Research focuses on health effects of environmental contamination on populations, particularly from activites such as mining and logging. (919) 684-4108; william.pan@duke.edu
  • Subhrendu Pattanayak, professor of public policy, environment and global health. Specializes in energy policy, environmental health and international cooperation on environmental policy; researches health effects of indoor air pollution from traditional cooking practices. (919) 613-9306; subhrendu.pattanayak@duke.edu
  • Junfeng (Jim) Zhang, professor of global and environmental health. Studies effects of air pollution on human health, as well as the potential benefits on health and climate of air-pollution control measures. (919) 681-7782; junfeng.zhang@duke.edu

HIV/AIDS

  • Sara Legrand, associate research professor. Conducts on social and behavioral research related to HIV prevention and care; uses digital health interventions to reduce disparities in HIV prevention and care among adolescents, particularly those from racial and gender minorities. (919) 438-0448; sara.legrand@duke.edu
  • Susan Reif, research associate. Research focuses on mental health and barriers to treatment for people living with HIV, particularly marginalized communities in the southeastern United States. (919) 376-3350; susan.reif@duke.edu

Maternal and Women’s Health

  • Megan Huchko, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology and global health; director of the Center for Global Reproductive Health. Research focuses on optimizing the diagnosis and treatment of cervical cancer among vulnerable women in settings where health disparities occur. (919) 613-5062; megan.huchko@duke.edu
  • Nimmi Ramanujam, professor of biomedical engineering and global health; director of the Center for Global Women’s Health Technologies. Research focuses on low-cost innovations to improve the diagnosis and treatment of breast and cervical cancer in the developing world. (919) 660-5307; nimmi.ramanujam@duke.edu

Non-communicable diseases

  • Many faculty at Duke study the global impact and care of non-communicable diseases, including cancer, cardiovascular disease, injuries, hearing loss and mental health. To see specific areas of expertise, search by topic in the Duke Global Health Institute directory.

Vaccine Development and Public Acceptance of Vaccines

  • Thomas Denny, professor of medicine and global health; chief operating officer of the Duke Human Vaccine Institute. Research focuses on development, testing, nanufacture and safety of human vaccines for a range of infectious diseases. (919) 681-1023; thomas.denny@duke.edu
  • Lavanya Vasudevan, assistant professor of family medicine, community health and global health. Research focuses on public acceptance of vaccines, reasons for vaccine hesitancy, and communication strategies to improve uptake of vaccines in global settings. (919) 613-1423; lavanya.vasuvedan@duke.edu